Benefits of Oat Bran on the Dukan Diet
How Much Oat Bran to Eat in the Phases of the Dukan Diet
A daily serving of oat bran is a key ingredient in all four phases of the Dukan Diet and you gradually increase the amount of your daily serving as you progress through the phases as follows:
- Attack Phase – 1.5 tablespoons a day
- Cruise Phase – 2.0 tablespoons a day
- Consolidation Phase – 2.5 tablespoons a day
- Stabilisation Phase – 3.0 tablespoons a day
Why is Oat Bran Part of the Dukan Diet
Oat bran is an important part of the Dukan program because it is high in a soluble fiber called beta-D-glucan. This high soluble fiber content makes oat bran the dieter’s friend as it not only helps combat constipation, it also makes you feel full and satisfied and can prevent the absorption of up to 10% of the fat that you eat.
Eating oat bran on a regular basis is also likely to meet with the approval of your doctor as research has shown that the regular consumption of oat bran can lower cholesterol, even out the fluctuations in blood sugar levels and may also help prevent some forms of cancer. The inclusion of high fiber foods in your diet such as oat bran is recommended by the American Heart Association.
More Information About Oat Bran
The bran of any grain is the outer husk and this outer husk is often discarded during processing. As well as containing most of the dietary fiber of the oat grain, oat bran also has low levels of sodium, saturated fat and cholesterol and is a good source of iron and some minerals.
Oat bran must be stored in a cool dry place and because of the small amount of healthy fat content it has it does not have a long shelf life. To overcome this problem it can be stored in the freezer thereby extending the time period over which the oat bran can be used.
Eating Oat Bran on the Dukan Diet
If you are looking for ideas on how to incorporate oat bran in to your diet you might like to read my post How Can I Eat Oat Bran on the Dukan Diet, which gives 10 ideas and suggestions for eating oat bran with links to recipes.
If you are a celiac or gluten intolerant you may be concerned that you are unable to eat this key ingredient but oat bran can now be purchased gluten-free. (There is a gluten-free version from Legacy Valley shown in the carousel below.)